Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    lawanderson's Avatar Now you're learning (Copper)
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Activ8 View Post
    "If" you have the harness conversion ...
    Fair point.

    It's been a good while since I first messed with clusters. I don't recall having to modify the new style harness much if at all (don't get me started on the CAN Bora ones!). I though that I saw that the OP had the loom. I probably made that up.
    Last edited by lawanderson; 21st March 2019 at 01:18 PM.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lawanderson For This Useful Post:

    Activ8 (21st March 2019),Jumbungla (21st March 2019)

  3. #12
    Jumbungla's Avatar Privileged
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 182 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Activ8 View Post
    Hold the horses.... completely different clusters bud . You cannot fit your replacement , compare the two !
    I hope I can!!! haha.

    Had a look at a few guides online and it seems the upgrade to this newer cluster is fairly straightforward. I also have the new loom to go with it. I've found a guide that says what wires need to go to what wires between old and new, and i'm and electrical engineer so i'm really hoping the transfer shouldnt be too much of a ballache.

    I've got the surround to go in as well.

    Only thing i don't know is if there will be any software tweaking on VCDS to "set up" the new cluster for my van - i.e. turn off sensors that my van doesnt have... Although reading into it it looks like you can just ground wires that dont have a sensor to go to and the cluster shouldn't alarm.

    Does this sound about right Activ?

  4. #13
    Jumbungla's Avatar Privileged
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 182 Times in 128 Posts
    Oh and i've checked and my new cluster isnt CAN - so good on that front.

  5. #14
    S49's Avatar Privileged
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    worcestershire
    Posts
    12,459
    Thanks
    2,815
    Thanked 4,530 Times in 3,487 Posts
    What is that dash out of, I have one from an 03 plate 2.5tdi thinking now should I have had the loom to?

  6. #15
    Activ8's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    10,508
    Thanks
    4,006
    Thanked 3,418 Times in 2,698 Posts

    Sounds good. I'll switch the sensors off in VCDS for you.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Activ8 For This Useful Post:

    Jumbungla (21st March 2019)

  8. #16
    Jumbungla's Avatar Privileged
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 182 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by S49 View Post
    What is that dash out of, I have one from an 03 plate 2.5tdi thinking now should I have had the loom to?
    The newer one is out of a more modern 1.9td abl, so hopefully quite a good match for changing over.

    Bought it off a guy breaking his van on facebook. Haven't checked the loom on my current cluster, but he chucked in the loom anyway.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Just T4s

  9. #17
    Jumbungla's Avatar Privileged
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 182 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Activ8 View Post
    Sounds good. I'll switch the sensors off in VCDS for you.
    Awesome, cheers, I'll let you know what I need off. Will test it tomorrow.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Just T4s

  10. #18
    damien devil's Avatar Unemployed (Platinum)
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Huddersfield West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,373
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 426 Times in 346 Posts
    I have the early model cluster too and it has the common issue of the fuel and temp gauge not working correctly. Does anyone on here fix this. Think it's a soldering issue from what I can gather , cluster out re solder the appropriate area , cluster back in .

    Come rain or shine I'm out in mine!!

    Sent from my Nokia 5.1 using Just T4s

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •