new to the t4 gang

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to the t4 gang

hi all..newbie here...ive got a vwt4 2.5tdi 800 special...it was running fine till yesterday...it started when the electric windows wouldnt work..i traced it to a fuse of a fly wire from the battery,,now they work great and light up..success.....short lived,,parked the van up and now she wont start..starts then dies like an immobiliser fault so i any one lives near oxford who know anything or anyone who can put my mechanic freind in the right route it would be awsome....anways..parking it up till i get a clue......will get to some meets when the van gets back running.cheeeeers

Hello and welcome!
    At a guess the windows may be shorting wires in the bellows of the door. As for your running issue, I am sure reg or active8 will be along to sort that.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Just T4s

Comment

Hello and welcome

Sent from my JSN-L21 using Just T4s

Comment

Welcome.
        Does your friend have VCDS or an applicable diagnostic scanner? Code reading the fault could help you identify eliminate the electrics / immo.

When you turn the ignition ON, do all of the cluster lights - as the van self checks - show and then go off? Any left on?

Is the fuel good & the correct type?

If the van starts with the immo light at the cluster OFF then it could be air in the fuel lines - observe the clear section of fuel feed pipe to the pump for bubbles. Alternatively look at the diesel injector return lines are they shiney / wet and soaked in diesel? This would mean they need replacing as they've become porous and again allowing air into the fuel system.
        Injectors fitted nice and tight? Any leaks or weaps of diesel around the pump.

Thats enough to be getting on with.

While your friend checks the van over, log in, sign up to the forums membership @ £7.50 and enjoy more support, banter and free advice with the Community. ;-)

Comment